Enemies at Home ~ Lindsey Davis


Thinking in Fragments

9781444766585Last week I asked whether or not authors of fantasy were ever successful in creating a second world with which their readers could readily identify.  I could, of course, have just as easily posed a similar question in respect of crime writers.  How well do we react when our favourite detective is ditched, even if only temporarily, for a newer kid on the block?  I don’t know about you, but however much I appreciated Malcolm Fox, I was overjoyed when John Rebus made a welcome return and while I really enjoy Quintin Jardine’s Bob Skinner novels, I’ve never warmed to either of the Blackstone series.  Jeffrey Deaver gets round the problem by introducing us to Kathryn Dance in the midst of the Lincoln Rhyme novels, so the two don’t seem so far apart; I don’t feel as if I’ve actually wandered into unfamiliar territory and even find myself preferring the Dance books to…

View original post 878 more words

Leave a Reply

