‘Miracle Drug’ That Reverses Heroin Overdoses Now Being Given To Patients Prescribed Opiates


CBS San Francisco

SAN FRANCISCO (CBS SF) — Doctors call it a miracle drug that reverses heroin overdoses.

“It makes me feel more safe, “ heroin addict Brad Urmston said.

It’s called naloxone, also known by its trade name Narcan, and it’s the antidote for a heroin overdose.

Daniel gave it to his brother who was overdosing during those critical minutes while waiting for paramedics.

“If i wasnt’ there,”  Daniel said, “He would be dead for sure.”

Urmston overdosed three days in a row, and naloxone saved his life three times.

“I kind of like, was floating out of my body,” Urmston recalls, “And went through the whole situation looking down, and I was like, wait, I can see the guy hitting me with the narcan, and I just plunge back down into my body and say, what’s going on here?”

Opiate overdoses block signals from the brain to the lungs and breathing…

View original post 237 more words

Leave a Reply

